Allotment Gardening

Bursting into life

If you read my last post, you will know how much I love this time of year on the allotment. Its just incredible to see the changes each day.  There is always something new flowering or a new tomato or runner bean has begun its journey to my kitchen from being a flower just the day before.

I look forward to arriving on the allotment each day and walking around to see what’s new since yesterday. So much changes overnight.

The sweetcorn is firing out its hairy bits from the stem and the male flower has sprouted from the top of the plant, ready to drop its pollen and turn them into lovely corn on the cob. I can see lots of side stems that will bear corn so I’m optimistic for a big crop this year.

I’m really pleased with the spaghetti squash too as each of my 3 plants have at least 20 flowers. Although I’m  still a bit worried that I’ve planted them too close together. I guess we will just have to wait and see. If all goes well, I’m going to need to start planning recipes. I’ve heard that this variety can be used as a replacement for pasta.  That was the whole point in trying it.  I really hope the kids like it. Especially if I end up with a huge crop.

I did make a bit of a judgement error with the brussel sprouts. I kept trying different types of slug and snail repellents, but nothing was working. They still kept getting munched on. After a little more research, I discovered that the culprits of the munching were pigeons! So as you can see in the photo above, I have now netted them. Hopefully they will fully recover now and go on to produce some lovely brussel sprouts.

One of the highlights of my morning on the allotment was picking the first batch of redcurrents before the birds ate them. Last year was very disappointing as I saw that they were ready one evening and decided to pick them the next day while it was warm. But the birds had eaten every single one of them for breakfast. I was not going to let that happen this year. I am already planning on building a fruit cage next year to cover all of my berries and currents.

I also managed to pick some of the ripe raspberries for the kids lunchboxes. Although I never seem to bring many home because they are so damn sweet and tasty. I just can’t help myself when I’m there. They taste so good when they are warm and fresh straight from the plant.

 

After a busy morning on the allotment, I had some editing to finish at home from a recent photoshoot before a beach shoot in the evening. Once I arrived home from the photoshoot, I opened up a bottle of Badgers Poachers Choice and sat on the Rattan on the patio to pot up the pepper plants that were kindly donated by my mum. Without her, I really wouldn’t have a bloody clue what I’m doing. She has grown all sorts for as long as I remember so I learnt a lot about gardening growing up.

As any allotmenteer will know, the allotment never sleeps, so I’ll be back in the morning with the hoe. Then off to the garden centre to buy a replacement watering can as my dear old metal one has finally died.

I’ll leave you with this fabulous selfie of me and my hoe, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

